Book Tag: New York Times by the Book

As mentioned earlier, we were graciously nominated for this book tag by Dr. Awkto at The Inky Awkto. Thanks so much! These are always so much fun and such a nice change of pace amongst my blathering about teaching and books. Let’s go!

What book is on your nightstand right now?

I have several books on my nightstand right now. I’m finishing up Bradbury’s The Martian Chronicles (so Bekah and I can do another podcast. SPACE BOOKS!); I’ve paused The Perks of Being a Wallflower since it makes me supremely uncomfortable, but it’s there to remind me that it’s unfinished; and lastly, Smith’s Grasshopper Jungle is next for me, so it is sitting there to motivate me to hurry.

22466429What was the last truly great book you read?

David Arnold’s Kids of Appetite. I got this book at ALAN and I now wish I had run around to find David Arnold and talk to him, since his writing style is just a seamless flow of sarcastic but meaningful thoughts and dialogue. I fancy myself sarcastic but meaningful, so I imagine our convo would’ve been book worthy.

If you could meet one author (living or dead), who would it be? What would you ask?

Tolkien, obvs. I think I’d have to ask “What the heck is Tom Bombadil?! Man? Spirit? Nature or Time itself?! Tell meeeeee!”

What books might we be surprised to see on your shelf?

I think the only book I’ve read that surprised someone (presh student) was a book on bird watching. I did a great deal of bird watching in college, so I’ve combed through the National Geographic Birds of North America guide more than a time or two.

How do you organize your personal library?

I have (currently) 3 major bookshelves. The main bookshelf is the one that I made with my father. It has a sort of jigsaw style and each shelf means something. It is where I house my favorites, not like “oh, I enjoyed that” but like, “this book changed me.” Thus, it is home to HP, LOTR, & RR, plus Dracula, Jekyll/Hyde, Frankenstein, Beowulf and all their friends.

The other two bookshelves are arranged with textbooks (my teaching and the hubby’s medical texts), adult fiction and non-fiction that we will keep, and young adult texts that will eventually move to my classroom. Which means I need another bookcase!!

What book have you always meant to read but haven’t gotten around to yet?

All of them, right?! If I had to pick one, I guess it would be Heart of Darkness or some other classic that I just haven’t yet met.

22752127Disappointing, overrated, just not good: what book did you feel you were supposed to like but didn’t?

I hate to say it but I really couldn’t get into The Serpent King. I wrote about it in a recent post, so I’ll spare you the many details, but suffice it to say that it made me sad in a way that didn’t feel… productive??

What kind of stories are you drawn to?

I try to be versatile, but when the choice is mine, I usually pick up something related to WWII or the Holocaust, be it fiction or non, or a scifi/fantasy work.

If you could require the president to read one book, what would it be?

This is dicey and I try to avoid politics, so I’ll just say that I’d recommend All American Boys and be done with it.

What do you plan to read next?

As mentioned above, Grasshopper Jungle is awaiting my attention.

Thanks again for the nomination and I hope you all enjoyed this interlude from the teacher ruminations. That simply leaves me to the nominations, so here they are!

The Orangutan Librarian, Read Voraciously, The Critiquing Chemist, Zezee with Books

4 Comments

Filed under Book Tag/Award, Lindsay

4 responses to “Book Tag: New York Times by the Book

  1. Thanks for tagging me. Heart of Darkness will make you even more uncomfortable than Perks of Being a Wallflower has, but it is a good read.
    I’d love to see those shelves you built with your dad. I’m curious to see the jigsaw style of it.

  2. Oh hope you enjoy Heart of Darkness! And I’d love to meet Tolkein- that is an excellent question for him!!! Thank you so much for tagging me!! 😀

Leave a Reply

