Reader to Reader: We Need Your Help

I know this readerly blog-o-sphere is far-reaching; so far-reaching, in fact, that a great many of my readers live outside of America. Let me be clear: this is not a post about America’s new Prez. I truly believe that opinions are like butt holes and everyone has one, and none of them interest me.

This post is about education. We are the readers. Each of us, regardless of race or nationality, was bitten by the reading bug at some point in our pasts. THAT is what gives me hope for my own future. THAT is the reason why I am spending all my time, money, and sanity to become a teacher. Although reading The Hobbit and the Harry Potter series were the original sparks, it was the unbridled passion of my 11th grade British Lit teacher who kindled that spark into an all out reader inferno. Many of us have that teacher who inspired us, or maybe it was a parent or friend, or maybe you never needed anyone’s help. In any case, that teacher and the many passionate professors in the English Department at Valdosta State University (GO BLAZERS!!) undoubtedly changed my life. Regardless of who I would’ve been without them, I am who I am today because of them.

This brings us back around to my point: America is at risk of having Betsy DeVos appointed as Secretary of Education. Again, this has nothing to do with my politics, because that doesn’t matter. What matters is that this possible Sec. of Ed. will be in charge of American public schools without spending a single day of her life even remotely affiliated with public school. She didn’t go to one, she never taught at one, she doesn’t support them, nothing. She refuses to clearly state whether she plans to continue allocating “sufficient” (I put quotation marks because the funds public schools get will never be sufficient, but I digress) funds to public schools, meaning that a great number of low-performing schools will be at risk of lower funding or closure.

I encourage you to read up on Betsy because typing all the many many ways in which she is not qualified for this position would leave me fingerless and pointlessly irate. My request is that all of us who have been inspired by a teacher use our voices to do everything we can to preserve America’s public schools.

THIS LINK will take you to a website where you can write to your senator. Use your voice. If you do not live in the US, you can still choose the “not in the US” option and speak up. It even drafts an email for the lazy but well-intentioned among us. PLEASE, if you see the injustice in this appointed position, help us!

The last thing I’ll say about it is that I will not tolerate nasty comments. If you disagree with me, move right along. You were not forced to read this and I will not tolerate the bullying and internet trolling that causes my students to suffer every day. If you want to speak out against me, you have every right to do so… on your own blog… not mine.

Now, on a lighter note, my students are a light in my life! They are little tornadoes of enthusiasm, sass and wisdom, and I love them. I’m working my tush off to create the best lessons I can for them and I truly cannot wait for the unit I’m starting Monday! They are devouring the books I’m Book Talking in class (humble brag!) and astounding me every day with their insights. They give me hope for the future, so the least I can do is make The Lord of the Flies as thought-provoking as possible. SO EXCITED and stay tuned!

img_20170113_143804534booktalksprojects

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

