ALAN is Mecca

Beautiful readerly people, life is just so much! Last week, I finished a 2 week marathon session of teaching The Odyssey to delightful 9th graders, expedited the Thanksgiving festivities with my family, and attended the ALAN conference in Atlanta (got books, met authors, lived life)… oh, and I got a dog.

First things first, let me subject you to feelings of severe jealousy based on the spoils of my Heroic Journey that was November, 2016.

alan

All ALAN attendees (mostly pre-service and certified teachers) get a 40 lb box of books plus a “swag bag” with more books. Additionally, most (if not all) of the authors in the books and bags are speaking at ALAN, so you have the opportunity to get all 40 lbs signed. As my friends and I quickly discovered, this is a divide and conquer task, since I got well over 40 books, so one must prioritize based on author.

I, personally, put 100% of my effort into meeting A. S. King and M. T. Anderson. You know how they say “don’t meet your heroes”? Don’t listen to them. Meet them. Meet all the wonderful, inspirational people you can, especially authors. These magical unicorns of humans have dedicated their lives to telling important stories and offering insights that are often misunderstood or misrepresented, so they have earned your spazzy fanship.

Behold:asking

As I stood (first!) in line to have books signed by Jason Reynolds, I looked upon the undoubtedly fascinating conversation between A. S. King, M. T. Anderson, and some guy. Ignore the rando and just enjoy the fact that great minds are magnetized to each other.

Speaking of Jason Reynolds…

jasonr

And M. T. Anderson…

mtanderson

It was a darned good time! I hope to be able to go in future years. And thank God teachers are paid so well that we can jet-set across the nation every November to highly anticipated and moderately expensive conferences!! OH WAIT, WE’RE NOT!

Also got another nerdy tattoo!

tat

Lastly, this is my puppers. I realize this is not book-related but you can get over it because he is adorbs and this is my blog.

groot

Have good days and I hope to be back as soon as possible!

Leave a comment

Filed under Lindsay, Literary Ink, Nerdiness abounds, Not A Book Review

Leave a Reply

