Back To (Grad)School Book Haul

I guess now is as good of a time as any to announce that I finally quit my job at the cubicle farm and am going back to school this Fall to get my Master’s Degree in Secondary English Education. Having finished Undergrad four years ago, it seems I forgot how painful it can be to buy books each semester, but don’t you worry, my reminder came in loud and clear when I paid my credit card bill.

As an aside, I hereby promise that I will not fill the blog with lesson plans and textbook excerpts; at most, it’ll inspire interesting discussion topics about getting kids to put down the phone and pick up a book. Just saying, don’t go assuming I’ll get boring and unfollow me.

IMG_20150725_163812028_HDR
So, I had to order in batches (to soften the financial blow), and my first haul came in this weekend, along with a few pleasure purchases. First of all, let me offer the world a word of warning: if you pre-order books on Amazon and ignorantly choose “combine my order into as few shipments as possible” thinking that you’re so good for helping the environment, you’re not getting those books any time soon. This innocent choice is why I didn’t receive my copy of Lee’s Go Set a Watchman until a week after publication. Having said that, please note from the photo that I finally got my copy and will be devouring it asap. I also got Leviathan Wakes; I originally read a library copy of it and LOVED IT so I’ve been buying the other volumes and common sense says I need to also own the first volume in the series. Don’t ask me to own an incomplete series. I’ll just disappoint you.

The other eight are textbooks. I’m interested to see how, I Thought My Father Was God fits into my “Teaching Writing” course, but we shall see. I’d also like to direct your attention to my Gandalf/Saruman salt & pepper shakers, just because I can.

I have more books on the way and a long road ahead of me, with lots of reading along the way. Stick with me, folks. This is going to get interesting.

5 Comments

Filed under Lindsay, Not A Book Review

5 responses to “Back To (Grad)School Book Haul

  1. Best of luck with grad school.
    And even more with getting students to put away their phones. 🙂

  2. Best of luck with the course then!

  3. Anonymous

    Yay yay yay! This post makes me so happy. Btw, I have decided to be a better blog follower. I’m not just saying this so you will follow my blog: therestlesswolf.blogpot.com … but you should follow it, Lou 😉

Leave a Reply

