Love This? Try This! – “Expanse” Series & Review of “Caliban’s War”

If/Then

Pics from amazon.com

My desire to find my next serious Series obsession continually leads me down a long, hard road with about a 90% failure rating. Most premier volumes I consume with desperate positivity that “THIS series is about to rock my world” and by the end of the book I’m convinced I’ll never feel joy again. Every series is held against the impossibly high standards set by The Lord of the Rings, A Song of Ice and Fire, and the Harry Potter books. I need to scratch that itch again; I desperately need more books that will fill me with the joy, suspense, anticipation, and “can’t stop, won’t stop” reading obsession that I get when reading the Godfathers of series work.

If you read my review of Andy Wier’s The Martian, you’ll remember that it brought home the bacon in terms of scratching the “must read good book” itch, but it was just one book. Boom, done. I read it and now it’s over, which is a huge shame because I found out that I may or may not totally dig the space theme! Then, one fine day, I saw the latest release in the Expanse Series alongside The Martian in a list of comparatively kickass novels and signed myself right up, and thank god I did. The series is apparently considered to be a “space opera,” which I hear means battles, drama, and political intrigue that take place in space. Just like in The Martian, we’re propelled into the future and are introduced to advanced technology, very appealing and relatable characters, and life-threatening crises that can only be solved by intelligent, resourceful people. The Expanse books contain less science and math than The Martian and more characters, locations, technology, relationships (romantic and non), and threats to the human species. Oh, and volumes! There are five so far and reportedly the SyFy channel is basing a TV series on the novels.

Goodreads.com

Click here to see on Goodreads.com

So, if you’re interested, see my review of Leviathan Wakes to get a general idea of the first volume. As for Caliban’s War, the second volume, I’m still addicted. James Holden and his crew are tasked with inspecting Ganymede, which has suffered an attack by a seemingly advanced version of the protomolecule discovered in the first book. They team up with a Martian Marine and a representative of Earth’s United Nations to help a Ganymede scientist search the solar system for his daughter, lost during the attack. Her abduction becomes more evidently linked to the protomolecule with each clue and, eventually, the possible end of the human race.

Overall, the pace doesn’t slow down. The first book prepared me for the outer space political turmoil and potential bio-hazardous threat, but this volume was jam packed with surprises and moments that made it necessary to remind myself, “It’s just a book. These are not real people/situations.” I applaud Corey for not losing any momentum, which is easy to do with a Vol. 2, but instead packing more punches and bringing a pre-established story into a new light. I love it. I’m obsessed and, if the others continue to thrill me, it’ll be promoted to sit alongside the series gods.

I’d love to know if anyone else has read this series or what other series has rocked your world! Do you like “space opera”? What are some of your favorite examples?

1 Comment

Filed under Book Review, Lindsay, Love This? Try This!, Wednesdays with Lind-say!

One response to “Love This? Try This! – “Expanse” Series & Review of “Caliban’s War”

  1. Pingback: L: Review of James S. A. Corey’s “Cibola Burn” & Toon Teaser | Untamed Shrews

Leave a Reply

