L: Book/Movie Review: Jurassic Park/World

As soon as I saw a trailer for “Jurassic World,” I penciled in a movie date night for opening weekend and got to work on playing catch up. First things first, I read the book. Having checked that off my To Do list, I had to find a copy of the original “Jurassic Park” movie (which I had never seen) so I could compare the two and prepare myself for the majesty that undoubtedly would be “Jurassic World.” I first searched Netflix and was sorely disappointed when they weren’t doing one of their “Spotlights!!” that they love so dearly. Shame on Netflix. Anyway, long story short, all the rental store copies were out already so I had to buy the only copy left at Wal-Mart. No, I’m not proud of it, but desperate times call for desperate measures and sometimes the only copy in town is at the devil’s supermarket. I don’t apologize.

Jurassic Park

Photo from flickeringmyth.com

So, having seen the the movie and read the book, I can’t really come up with that many discrepancies. It pretty much stuck to the book, and with good reason! They made a few choices that I thought were excusable, considering the time restrictions and that too many characters can lead to crowded confusion, so some events and experiences were consolidated from two separate book characters to one in the movie, and some events were skipped or drastically shortened, for the sake of a short film. I will say, as is almost always the case, the book has a lot more exciting moments that are omitted from the movie, and I really missed several of them, but it does such a great job of conveying to viewers the same feeling of terrified smallness and fragility that is imparted in the book. I loved Samuel L. Jackson as Arnold. I loved Newman (that is his name. Deal with it.) as Nedry. I loved Jeff Goldblum. I loved his shirtless scene. I loved the director for throwing that in there for no good reason. One of my only issues was that the kids were opposites (Tim was supposed to be the older sibling, maybe 11, and less annoying while Lex was like 8 and a raging nuisance throughout), which I just didn’t understand the benefit to that change. I loved how Dr. Grant and Tim bonded in the book, which never happened in the movie, since Tim was a little idiot. The other issue was that most of the people who died in the book lived in the movie, and vice versa. That helicopter ride away from the island was carrying at least 3 dead book characters, and then people who lived in the book were killed off in the movie. I’m not dumb, so I understand that keeping the likable characters provides appeal for the sequels. Who can resist the siren’s song of more Goldblum? NOBODY. So, I get it, I just didn’t expect it.

Jurassic World

Photo from amazon.com

Now, “Jurassic World.” Where to begin? It was awesome. I adored all the references to the original movie, and I think that was a really cool way to encourage the allegiance of fans of the original film. I heard a lot of griping about the plot being similar to the second film, but I didn’t see that one so I’m not bothered. Also, apparently nobody liked the second one, so who cares if they improve upon it? The family stuff was a little hokey, but again, not bothered. The amusement park was incredibly believable and all of the technology available for a futuristic zoological park seemed ambitious but, again, believable. I could totally see our society being capable of such attractions and technologies if dinosaur DNA became a reality. I also heard people complain that the idea of needing to create a new dinosaur to maintain the guests’ interest wasn’t believable since no one would ever get tired of preexisting dinosaurs. I disagree. I buy it; as soon as anything new is discovered, it’s all the rage until society becomes used to it. Think about all of the technologies imagined on the Starship Enterprise. Viewers THEN considered those things implausible and now almost all of them are everyday realities. Dinosaurs would undoubtedly be so incredibly kickass for the first few years, or even decades, but eventually they’d be commonplace and I think that is when this film is meant to take place. Chris Pratt was unstoppable playing Owen, the Raptor trainer, and I loved the camaraderie between the dinosaurs and their trainers, as well as the possible fragility of that bond. The cast was excellent, the plot was sufficient, the action was unstoppable, and the effects were outrageous. I loved it and it will be mine once available on Blu-ray and DVD.

Please go see it and let me know what everyone else thinks. Did anyone else read the books? How did you think they compare to the movies? Did that affect your experience while watching “Jurassic World”? I’d love to hear from everyone.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book/Movie Review, Lindsay, Wednesdays with Lind-say!

Leave a Reply

