L: Review of “Jurassic Park” by Michael Crichton

Jurassic Park

Click here for Goodreads

​AH-MAZING!! Guys, Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton is a stellar book for all too many reasons. I don’t remember seeing the movie as a kid, so I knew very little about what was coming my way (except that I know Jeff Goldblum was in it so… no more questions, Your Honor). I went into this thinking that it was a popular work so I needed to get it under my belt, that it’s about people visiting a dinosaur theme park and decidedly not having the time of their lives, and that I get to picture Goldblum for several hundred pages. It was all of that, and more! Most people will have seen the movie or read the book, so I feel like a prolonged synopsis will be unnecessary. In brief, the novel focuses on paleontologist Dr. Alan Grant who is invited by an eccentric millionaire tycoon, John Hammond, to tour his secret island, Isla Nublar, before opening it to the public. The island is a secret because it contains the product of preserved and cloned dinosaur DNA; that product is 200+ living, breathing, terrifying dinosaurs. As expected, mayhem ensues and things get pretty real pretty quickly, and then stay that way. I loved Crichton’s writing style. I’d imagine that it might be a daunting task to take on writing about dinosaurs, as you’re expected to adequately describe creatures, landscapes, and lifestyles that have only ever truly been imagined. Crichton does a great job imparting the detail, complexity, and danger of not only the creatures themselves, but also the notion of trying to resurrect the most powerful and fearsome species that ever existed. I’ve never seen a dinosaur; never studied them, seen the films, read the books, etc. However, I now understand that the only reasons humans are here is because dinosaurs are not, and I think we should all send a big cosmic thanks to whatever meteors and natural disasters helped us climb to the top of the food chain. The writing was fantastic; the premise is truly one of a kind and so refreshingly new; the adventure and suspense was non-stop and my interest was fully invested all along, and remains even after finishing it. I loved reading it and I’d highly recommend it to any interested parties. I’m going to rent the movie this weekend and find out what all the “cult classic” fuss is about and maybe I’ll do a book/movie comparison. Then OBVIOUSLY I’ll be breaking my “seeing new movies in theaters is way too expensive” ban and we’ll be seeing Jurassic World this weekend, too. I’ll be all dinosaured out by Monday, but I have a lot of catching up to do! Let me know what everyone else thinks! Will you be seeing the new movie? What did you think of the old one(s)? Did you read the book? Love hearing from you all. Stay tuned!

2 Comments

Filed under Book Review, Lindsay

2 responses to “L: Review of “Jurassic Park” by Michael Crichton

  1. Pingback: L: Review of Nova Ren Suma’s “The Walls Around Us” | Untamed Shrews

  2. Pingback: L: Book/Movie Review: Jurassic Park/World | Untamed Shrews

Leave a Reply

