H: Book Review – Cormoran Strike Series

While I was away I did read more than Harry Potter, however, I stuck with the same author. JK Rowling released 2 books under a pseudonym, Robert Galbraith. She claims it is the start of a series centering on Cormoran Strike, a struggling private detective who lost a leg in the Afghan War, and his new assistant, Robin.

The first in the series is The Cuckoo’s Calling. Strike is hired by a childhood friend to investigate his sister’s, Lula, tragic suicide. Once the details begin to emerge, it is clear there is more than just family drama around these siblings.

I feel like if I give any more details then I will be giving the story away! I really enjoyed Cuckoo and its sequel, The Silkworm. The latter was a much more gruesome investigation, but who does’t love a bit of blood and gore? JK/Robert does a great job giving hints in the small details, so if you read closely, you may be able to solve the crimes for yourself!

I have nothing but  more praise for Queen JK! Until next time, happy reading!


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s