H: The Goldfinch Review

I have finally finished reading the labor intensive, The Goldfinch. I say labor intensive because of the length, less of the writing style.

Theodore Decker takes an impromptu visit to The Modern Museum of Art in NYC with his mother where they are involved in a terrorist attack. His mother dies; Theo spends the rest of his life trying to understand tragedy while hiding a painting he stole during the aftermath of the attack, The Goldfinch.

Ehhhh, this is it?

Ehhhh, this is it?

(If you prefer a more spoiler filled plot description, check out this rview that I 100% agree with.) I will admit, Theo started out as sympathetic. He took a turn to annoying real, real fast. 1,000 pages of “woe is me” is too many, Donna Tartt. I enjoyed the progression of his story and it kept me interested, I just really didn’t like him. He turned all philosophical at the very end, but by that point I was tired of reading and just ready for the story to be done. In addition to his creepy fascination with a painted bird chained to a branch, Theo somehow manages a creepier fascination with a redhead named Pippa, which he carries on his entire life.

A Read This, Drink That post is coming soon, as this book is filled with booze and drugs so it should’t be that hard to find inspiration.

Favorite Quotes: “…as bad as I felt there was nothing he could do for me, and from his face, I realized he knew that, too.” -Theo
“You idiot. You mean you never even opened it up?” -Boris
“Beauty alters the grain of reality.” -Hobie

Final Report: tedious and tiring. Sorry.

Anyway, on to the next one (that Lindsay directs me to read). Happy Reading!
-H

 

6 Comments

Filed under Book Review, Hannah

6 responses to “H: The Goldfinch Review

  1. Hmm, @anonymous, thanks for the suggestion. As I said, I enjoyed the beginning of the book. However, with 1,000+ pages, there was much I could do without. I prefer strong characters with much gumption and Theo was quite the opposite, moping around and drinking away his woes.

    It was as though Tartt was attempting to write the next great “classic” with philosophical points about life, growing up, and holding onto childhood (in Theo’s case, his childhood/painting). She was trying so hard, she overshot the point for me; at least Twilight doesn’t even pretend to be fine literature.

    I respect your opinion, but next time, please respect mine, too.

    • Good points, Hannah. I think the great thing about literature is that everyone is entitled to their own opinions, no matter how they may differ from others. It’s a shame that having a not so raving review of one book means that your opinion isn’t valid. I say keep up the great work, Hannah!

  2. Anonymous

    I just finished the book and found it heartbreaking and beautiful. I never wanted it to end. If you found Theo’s obsession with the painting (and Pippa) “creepy,” you were never going to like this book in the first place. Stick with the Twilight series.

  3. I love Tartt’s writing, but I found The Little Friend just went on and on. Interesting that TGF won the Pullitzer.

  4. This has had some incredibly diverse reviews. The Sunday times called it a turkey yet it won the Pullitzer. Hm, not sure what to make of that.

  5. This makes me okay with the fact that I missed the bandwagon to read it. I can’t wait for the Read This though!

Leave a Reply

