L: Book Challenge, Days 11-13

Alright, I decided not to dive right into second volume of Rothfuss’s The Kingkiller Chronicle series. This is due mostly in part to the fact that I didn’t care enough to continue the story. Oh well. Guess I’ll never know what happened. Guess that I’ll also never actually care.

So, instead, I’ve decided to reread The Silmarillion by Tolkien. I read it years ago and I’ve already forgotten everything about it. Kids, ya know?! They’ve got no respect, no respect at all! So I’m rereading it. I’m 50 or so pages into it already, and I LOVE IT. It reminds me a lot of all the Greek and Roman mythology I studied in college. I keep a notepad handy while I’m reading so I can draw out the family trees, individual powers, and connections for the numerous characters. I love reading this because of these fascinating details, but also because I’m learning the history of so many of my favorite Tolkien characters. I’m excited to be reading something I love. I’ll keep everyone posted as progress continues.

Now, I can finally make my way back to the book challenge I suggested forever ago. I’ll do a few of them in a row in order to satiate all you readers.

Day 11: A book that you hated – Easy. Atonement by Ian McEwan. I don’t even want to talk about it. Read my review, if you must. Just don’t make me remember my hatred for this book.

Day 12: A book you love but hate at the same time – I don’t know about this one. I guess I would have to say A Feast for Crows by George R. R. Martin. I adore this series. Reading this particular volume, however, was painful. Nothing happens! There are so many twists and turns in this series, but it seems like none of them happen in book three. It’s one of those books that spends 400+ pages prepping readers for something super crazy. And let me tell you, book 4, A Dance with Dragons has about a million plot twists. I feel nothing but love for the other 4 volumes of this series, but A Feast (…) was agony. I knew the goodness was coming, but it took a whole volume before it finally came. I loved it and I hated it.

Day 13: Your favorite writer – Oh, this is a hard one. I don’t really know who… JUST KIDDING. Tolkien. Easy-peasy. I’ve encountered a lot of writers who have one fan-freaking-tastic novel or series, but they encounter trouble for their other works. They often are somewhat of a one trick pony and wear out their writing style or theme while showing little to no ability to come up with something different. Other times their successful work(s) throw them into a niche that they can’t escape. Some of my favorite authors fall into these categories. Tolkien, however, has written so many different types of works that he seems to avoid these traps. He wrote things like The Hobbit and “Roverandom” to appeal to adults and kids alike, while The Silmarillion is more “historical fiction” and The Lord of the Rings series is more action & drama-filled fiction. He’s versatile (enough) while still being successful. Love him.

Hannah’s turn! See you guys soon!

2 Comments

Filed under Lindsay

2 responses to “L: Book Challenge, Days 11-13

  1. Day 12- wrong!!! Storm killed off AT LEAST 3 main characters while also giving us 3 weddings, including a red one and one with poison. HOW IS THAT BORING

Leave a Reply

