A Christmas for the Books

Merry Christmas (and Happy Hanukkah and/or Kwanzaa) to all! I hope everybody had an amazing holiday break; I personally felt as though mine was a smidge too short, but I think mine could be a permanent vacation and it would still be too short. However, if Christmas should teach us anything, it’s that we should spend more time being thankful for what we have and less time griping about the things we don’t have. In that spirit, I want to take the time to be thankful for all the wonderfully literary gifts being dished out this Christmas!

First of all, my mom goes balls to the wall on Christmas, every year. We don’t each get a few gifts; Addie and I get so many gifts that we feel like we send the people we love into a very dramatic “near-bankruptcy funk” each year. Let it be known, this is not something we ever asked of our mother. She saves like a lunatic all year long so that she can practically shower us with gifts every Christmas. We’re both grown up by now; we make the money we spend. Thus Karen Lynn feels validated in her desire to spend more on us once a year since she spends less throughout the rest of the year.

Now, having said that, my mom got me a ton of amazing gifts for Christpalooza 2013, but my favorite has to be the pillow sham (technically, I don’t even know if it is a “sham;” I’m more inclined to call it a pillow jacket…) with Tolkien’s drawing of the map of Middle Earth. I love this thing. I stare at it for extended amounts of time and I’m already planning on redecorating my whole room to suit it (it’s just brown and cream, so it should be easy). I love it and I love Mama.

Middle Earth Pillow

Addie, my sister, also got me a fun, literary gift. We have both read all of George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire books, thus far, and we love them, so Addie found some great themed refrigerator magnets online. They incorporate all of the characters, places, and time and location sensitive nouns, verbs, adjectives, etc. It came in a box of roughly a million words and I have had so much fun piecing sentences together. Another great gift!

g

Lastly but of course not least(ly?), Hannah got me an awesome book that incorporates our two favorite hobbies: reading and drinking! It’s called Tequila Mockingbird by Tim Federle and lists literally about 100 drinks inspired by classic novels. She bookmarked the drink inspired by Paradise Lost called “Paradise Sauced” and also gave me the ingredients. So creative and thoughtful! I don’t want to give away too much, mostly because I think all of you should go buy this book and have a theme party (and obviously invite Hannah and myself), but the “sinfully delicious” drink included apple schnapps and, after enough of them, would easily uphold its name.

Tequila Mockingbird

The moral of this story is that I am incredibly luck and that you should all consider getting literary-inspired gifts for your readers this coming year. Happy New Year to all!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “A Christmas for the Books

  1. Melanie Williams

    I think all your gifts sound great, but I may need to Google the Middle Earth sham/jacket!

  2. Karen

    First of all, your mama loves you too! (More, honestly) Also, to explain my gift giving extravaganza, remember years ago you and your sister used to get one big gift and a few small ones. One year, with no good “big gift” ideas, I got lots of small ones, (more packages, boxes, and bags!) and surprisingly you and Addie seemed to enjoy that even more! Your sincere appreciation and delight are the reason I’ve kept this up! Gift giving is so much fun when the recipient is truly appreciative!

Leave a Reply

