L: Book Challenge, Day 2

Like I said last week, I was out of town this weekend so I wasn’t able to participate in the book challenge. So, day 2 is included below.

Day 2: “A book that you’ve read more than 3 times?” I’m making an effort to avoid repeats in this challenge, so I’m saving the obvious answer for another, more important, question. But I will keep it in the family, and list The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien as my multi-read. This surprisingly reverts back to my recent post about my ongoing issue with re-reading books. Luckily, most Tolkien works are not included in my moral issue. I have read each of the books in the The Lord of the Rings trilogy many many times and, make no bones about it, I will re-read and re-re-read until my dying day. I even have them on Audiobook and on my Kindle, so I can pretty much vacay in Middle Earth at any time. And thank goodness for that! These characters are practically family to me by now. As you all know, The Hobbit is the best thing that ever happened to me, so having three more books where I can follow some of the same characters, in the same fantasy land, with growing quests, troubles, and victories is all I could ask for in a series. I must say, I LOVE a good series. The point of reading a book is to lose yourself in the life of another, and for me, it’s easy to grow fond of characters as you endure these trials and triumphs with them. A series makes this attachment that much stronger and turns them from about 200 pages-worth of a character to multiple volumes of practically a friend. Tolkien is a master at this and develops each character so strongly that you cannot help but feel sad with Frodo as he leaves the Shire and feel comfort in his eternal friendship with Samwise. The Fellowship (…) is my favorite because, technically speaking, most of it takes place before sh*t hit the fan. It’s the calm before the storm. The Fellowships is still together, no one has died yet or been betrayed; the adventure is still there without the ominous overtone, and I love it.

So, that’s my Day 2 book. Day 3 is about a series and don’t think “Oh, I’ll just skip that one because she’s just given us her answer” because, although I adore The Lord of the Rings, it is not my favorite series, so stay tuned. I’d love to hear your Day 2 answer and we will soon hear Hannah’s, I’m sure. The great thing about Hannah and me doing this together is that, except for day 3’s question, I don’t see much possibility of our answers being the same. You’re going to get a lot of variety throughout this “challenge” and I hope it will be entertaining, at the least, and informative for any of your future reads, at the most. Stay tuned for Day 3!

1 Comment

Filed under Book Review, Lindsay

One response to “L: Book Challenge, Day 2

  1. Christie Walton

    Books I have read more than 3 times…Gone with the Wind, Dracula, Little Women, Jane Eyre,Tolkien (all of them) I could go on and on!

Leave a Reply

