Challenge Accepted!

I know I just blogged yesterday, so go right ahead and consider this some two-in-a-row personal record and don’t get used to it. I was browsing the internet yesterday, looking for interesting book-ish things, and I came across a 30 Day Book Challenge. The point is for me to give you all the list, but only give one answer per day, thus creating suspense and encouraging you readers to come back, day after day, just so you can know my answer to “Day 30.” As you know, however, Hannah and I cannot be counted on, especially for that level of frequency. We both have jobs, we both have lives, we both enjoy this blog so we can do something together even though we’re miles apart, but the blog is purely recreational so you all have come to expect rather few-and-far-between posts. I think this book challenge would be fun and informational, but I know for a fact that we will not be posting every day for 30 days. In fact, I’m going home to Carnegie for the weekend and I didn’t bring my laptop, so that right there makes 2 non-blog days.

So I propose this, if Hannah also thinks this would be fun and if you readers would enjoy learning the answers to the many questions and hopefully giving us a few of your own answers, I think we should accept this book challenge on the stipulation that we can take a few days off of blogging as long as we answer the questions when we come back. So if today is my “Day 1,” I can just answer the questions for days 2 and 3 when I get back home on Sunday night. I think it would be a fun challenge and it will encourage Hannah and me to be more frequent in our postings. As always, we encourage you to comment on our posts and give us your own answers. We love hearing from you all and this is a perfect way to get to know each other!

Book Challenge

So, Book Challenge Day 1: “Best book you read last year?” I’d have to say that would be Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. I think we read that earlier this year but it feels like forever ago. I remember being so surprised by how much I truly adored this book. Austen’s writing style and her ability to portray powerful and capable female characters was all but unheard of during her time period. Plus, it was witty and captivating and surprisingly suspenseful. I loved this book and I’m so glad I put down my prejudices and finally read it. So wonderful!

Last but not least, I was luck enough to see the lovely Hannah this week. She came all the way to Athens to join me for a Trampled by Turtles concert and it was so wonderful to catch up with my best friend! I love getting to see her (especially if a banjo is involved), and I can’t wait to visit again! Everyone have a great weekend and keep reading!

Trampled by Turtles Reunion

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Challenge Accepted!

  1. Pingback: L: Silmarillion Review | Untamed Shrews

  2. Anonymous

    Melanie! I’m so excited to hear you like The Secret Garden. I just read it for the first time last year and I loved it! As I was ranting and raving about what a great book it was, Lindsay pointed out that it was actually a chirldren’s book. I guess I missed it in my youth, but so glad I found it. That might have to be my Day 01 book.

  3. Melanie Williams

    Day 02 – The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett
    Day 03 – Don’t think I’ve read a series other than The Hardy Boys when I was very young
    Day 04 – Don’t have one that I can recall

  4. Christie Walton

    Best book last year was Heaven is for Real! That little boy’s experience was wonderful to read.

  5. Melanie Williams

    Day 01 – Eat Pray Love – Not a literary masterpiece, but it really resonated with me. Don’t judge… 🙂
    (This will also possibly be my answer to #14.)

Leave a Reply

