Now THAT’S Lit-Love

The deed is done. I got a tattoo of Smaug. I know many of you think this is quite silly; and for anyone else, it certainly would be silly. However, my emotional connection to The Hobbit is likely quite dissimilar to your own.

This book changed my life. It was one of the first books I read as a child that showed me that books can be fun and exciting, not just informational obligations. It convinced me to stay up way too late trying to squeeze in one more chapter, followed by just one more. The big, illustrated version that my parents gave me was one of the forefathers in my now impressive book collection. I’m not talking about all the books my parents bought to read to Addie and me before bed. I’m talking about MY books. Those went on a whole different shelf, people. I even remember when my mom got a package deal for seeing three shows at the Fox Theater in Atlanta. Mama chose to see A Christmas Carol, Addie picked The Rockettes, and I picked The Hobbit. That story transformed me to a whole other world with mythical creatures and adventures I simply couldn’t experience in the mean streets of Fort Gaines, GA. My life consisted of the usual stuff: school/homework/playing/sleep, repeat. I certainly never encountered hoards of spiders just begging for a sound thrashing, nor did I get the chance to outwit a huge dragon, so I let Bilbo do it and I just went along for the ride.

I went into this knowing I would have to explain myself a lot to people who didn’t know what the tattoo was, and then upon finding out, wondered why I’d want that permanently on my body. Like I said, to someone without my elaborate back story, it seems insignificant. However, I can assure you that your hibiscus flower with your ex’s name underneath it lacks significance for me, as well. So I encourage everyone to form an opinion of my tattoo, but if it isn’t nice, keep it to yourself. Who will it benefit to let anyone know that you think their permanent choice was ill-made? My mom always said it was rude to say something negative about the food someone is choosing to eat; the same goes for tattoos. The deed is done. The ink is permanent. Be nice.

Smaug

7 Comments

Filed under Lindsay, Not A Book Review, Wednesdays with Lind-say!

7 responses to “Now THAT’S Lit-Love

  1. i love it! and everything you said is soo true! ❤ it's no one's business but ours, what we do and what we believe in. It has meaning and it's close to our heart 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Liebster Award! | Untamed Shrews

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday | Untamed Shrews

  4. Anonymous

    My “child” is so wise! I love it! ☺

  5. Christie Walton

    Never be ashamed of your passion for great stories! I would have a difficult time picking a tat from a book because so many have had an effect on me. I do have a dragon tat but I can’t say it is because of McCaffrey ‘s books!

  6. Anonymous

    Yipeeee !! love it.. I do not know Smaug but if you love him/her, I love him/her.. 😉

  7. Melanie Williams

    I love it Lindsay! And I love your backstory! You rock!

    P.S. Thanks for posting a close-up picture. I really couldn’t tell what it was on FB.

Leave a Reply

