Read This, Drink That – Bad Monkey Edition

As I posted like, a decade ago, we read Bad Monkey by Carl Hiaasen; I enjoyed reading the story, but I wasn’t a huge fan of the ending. Hiaasen is a clever/hilarious writer and several parts of the story did make me laugh out loud drawing laughs of plane passengers. The novel is set in Key West with a down-and-out police officer, Andrew Yancy looking for a life’s purpose after an awkward encounter with his mistress’s husband. After Yancy obtains a severed arm, he stumbles upon quite an investigation that includes a voodoo witch with a movie star monkey. Truthfully, though, the monkey irritated me, as did reading in the Bahamian dialect. Reading the words as they were written took more time and thought than actually reading type without the dialect to imagine it myself. I also had a beef with the ending to the novel; once the mystery was solved, the pages didn’t end. I kept flipping, reading, and wondering when I was going to be on the last page, which is a feeling I do not like.

Anyway, because the book was just “eh” for me, I had a lot of trouble coming up with a Read This, Drink That entry. It’s definitely not my favorite and not even close to the Riding Camp edition, but hey, it’ll work. Maybe if I have a Key Lime Pie Martini the entry will grow on me.

Read This, Drink That - Bad Monkey

 

Key Lime Pie Martini
1 oz. dark rum
3 oz. Daily’s Lime Juice
4 barspoons  whipped cream
Combine ingredients & shake. Rim glass with crushed graham crackers.

| Novel | Martini | Ice Bucket | Lobster Claw Opener | Palm Tree Swizzle Sticks |
| Cork Shaker | Martini Glasses | Blue Wave Glasses | Pitcher |

Cheers!
-H

1 Comment

Filed under Book Review, Hannah

One response to “Read This, Drink That – Bad Monkey Edition

Leave a Reply

