The Yonahlossee Riding Camp For Girls – Review

Yes, as Lindsay says, we have been so BUSY!! I have been flying a lot; I wish I could carry my laptop around with me everywhere but I already have so much crap there is just no way that is possible.

Anyway – it’s finally book review time! I finished reading The Yonahlossee Riding Camp for Girls a few days ago. It was popping up in several magazines as a great summertime read, so of course, I downloaded it. The novel is Anton DiSclafani’s debut and it is rare for a debut novel to get so much great press; however, I was unimpressed. The novel is the coming-of-age  story of Thea(dora) Atwell after a mysterious family tragedy during the Great Depression  results in her being sent to Yonahlossee Riding Camp in the North Carolina Blue Ridge Mountains. I can’t say any more without foiling the plot; the book is told from Thea’s current state at camp and flashbacks eventually reveal what happened to send Thea to camp. Honestly, I couldn’t stop reading the book because I wanted to find out what sent her to Yonahlossee, but other than that, I wasn’t really engrossed in Thea herself. She was too arrogant and reading from her point of view was unsettling. When I finished the book, I was mostly indifferent; I couldn’t decide if I loved it or hated it. Still can’t decide.

Overall, I suppose it is a good summer read because of the family gossip aspect, and I wouldn’t want to stop someone from reading it, so if you are in need of a good summer scandal, check it out.

I have recently joined the local library, so more book reviews coming soon! To our “fans”, thanks for the encore demands!

Happy Reading!
-H

2 Comments

Filed under Book Review, Hannah

2 responses to “The Yonahlossee Riding Camp For Girls – Review

  1. Anonymous

    I remember you telling me you couldn’t decide how you feet about that book. I don’t know about you, I’d rather hate a book than be indifferent. So many book reviews have steered us wrong; thank goodness we’re here with our real talk!!

  2. Anonymous

    Yay !!! The girls are back !

Leave a Reply

