I’ll Take That Literature To Go, Please!

When I was 16, I went to London with my father and sister, Addie. The trip was a gift to my sister for graduating high school and, thankfully, she was far more mature than I was in ‘04, so she planned the exact trip I would plan for myself. Today. In 2004, however, I was really only concerned with whether it would snow (no, of course it didn’t) and going to Madam Tussaud’s Wax Museum. At that point, I hadn’t taken any British Lit classes and my future Shakespeare-loving self was but a twinkle in my then adolescent eye.

Well, world travels, I may have been too chock-full of teen angst to appreciate you my first time around, but thanks to Hannah and the fact that she is single, I’ll be cashing in my mulligan soon! Before too long, Hannah and I will be settled in to our jobs with some savings set aside and I imagine there is no better time to see the world than now!

Don’t fret; we won’t be leaving all you readers high and dry! Well, if you want to get technical, we will totally be leaving y’all in the dust. But we have found an amazing way to combine our travels and this literary blog! Enter Novel Destinations: Literary Landmarks from Jane Austen’s Bath to Ernest Hemingway’s Key West, stage right! This book is amazing! It incorporates tons of authors and famous classic works of literature into a travel guide for the book buff. Anything from literary festivals, pub crawls, historical tours, cemeteries, birthplaces, and even the exact room in which a classic was written can be found in this book. All we have to do now is plan the first trip!

Novel Destinations

So in the future, expect to be stuffed uncomfortably into my carry-on luggage because we have places to go, and lots and lots of literary history to see! We’ll keep you all posted as plans progress so that you can be adequately jealous!

Oh, one last thing: I am currently reading Anna Karenina and it is slow-going! The content is good, the language is fluid, but I have a hard time motivating myself to keep picking it up. Alas, I will soldier on. In the meantime, I’m perusing Novel Destinations so be patient with me, and especially with Hannah who is flying high at the top of her class, and read along if you like!

2 Comments

Filed under Lindsay, Not A Book Review, Wednesdays with Lind-say!

2 responses to “I’ll Take That Literature To Go, Please!

  1. Karen

    I do so hope you get a re-do of the England trip. You’re much more prepared for true enjoyment of that trip now!

  2. Christie

    I am also attempting Anna again! Just got done with Oliver Twist.

Leave a Reply

