There and Back Again, and Again, and Again…

You know how we all have something, some passion, some “Soapbox” subject, about which we want to talk and explain to others why we… just gotta have it? But when we genuinely try to explain it, all words fall short of what we truly wish to express because the main argument in favor of it is the feeling it gives us? Well, I imagine this phenomenon is generally applied to fiery romances or the joys of parenthood or some such; however, since I cannot claim to currently desire either of those options, I instead attribute it to the books which have molded me into this totally rad person.

Don’t ask me to list my “Top 5;” that is impossible. Instead I’ll reveal them to you as I please, starting of course with The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien. Fact: this book is amazing. From the short, “Call me Ishmael”-esk first sentence, that “gotta have it” takes over. The story is a prelude to Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings series and tells the tale of Bilbo Baggins’s acquisition of the One Ring and his adventures across Middle Earth with 13 grumbling, albeit charming, dwarves and Gandalf the wizard.

Tolkien wrote The Hobbit to be appropriate for all ages so the storyline and imagery is all quite fantastical and child-friendly. This last point is where the movie comes into play. Since the Lord of the Rings movies came out first, a lot of people expected The Hobbit to be similar to those in the sinister undertones, semi-adult content (I mean, there is a lot of killing going on in those movies), and realistic characters. This is why I think a lot of people were disappointed by the movie. It was light and rather slapstick at times and the action scenes included far less sword-play and included more dialogue & running away. As for the realistic aspect, the LOTR movies were filmed 10 years ago; aside from Gollum & Treebeard, most of the characters were real people in unbelievable costumes. I, for one, favor this to CGI animation, but I won’t fault Peter Jackson for utilizing the technology that has since become available.

All in all, you should go see the movie, but only after reading the book! It is a wonderful adaptation of one of the greatest books ever and I highly recommend it. I hope you love the book half as much as I do and, hopefully, enjoy the trip there and back again, again and again and again.

The Hobbit

3 Comments

Filed under Book Review, Book/Movie Review, Lindsay

3 responses to “There and Back Again, and Again, and Again…

  1. Pingback: The Liebster Award! | Untamed Shrews

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday | Untamed Shrews

  3. Pingback: Andrew’s Argument in Favor of Film | Untamed Shrews

Leave a Reply

