Atonement – Hannah’s Review

Lindsay is such a debbie-downer. I will explain her animosity in that she is not a real friend.

Before you continue, after writing my review I see there is are slight spoilers involved, so if you want to be completely blindsided by the novel, don’t read any further!

Anyway, to be truthful, I think the reason I love Atonement so much is because I saw the film first. The film is an absolute work of art with actors that bring Cecilia (Kiera Knightley), Robbie (James McAvoy), and sadly, Briony, to life. Brinoy is despicable; I will agree with Lindsay there. She is incredibly selfish, has no regard for anyone else and she is played perfectly by Saoirse Ronan. Obviously this is not my opinion, but it is fact because the role scored Saoirse a Best Supporting Actress nomination at the Oscars.

Enough movie talk; McEwan creates incredible characters that it is impossible not to get wrapped up in their love story. Torn apart by Briony, a world war, and life in general, how could you not root for them to find each other?!

As a bonus, one of my favorite parts of this novel is the title. A simple word explains so much of the novel, and the reader does not know the significance until the very last chapter.

I would write more of a review, but every time I add another sentence, I feel like it gives too much away.

Favorite Quotes: “A world could be made in five pages, and one that was more pleasing than a model farm. The childhood of a spoiled prince could be framed within half a page, a moonlit dash through sleepy villages was one rhythmically emphatic sentence, falling in love could be achieved in a single word–a glance. The pages of a recently finished story seemed to vibrate in her hand with all the life they contained.” -Narration (Briony)

“Dearest Cecilia, You’d be forgiven for thinking me mad, the way I acted this afternoon. The truth is I feel rather light headed and foolish in your presence, Cee, and I don’t think I can blame the heat.” -Robbie

We are now onto Lindsay’s book, (which I can already expect HATING! MWAHAHHAA) so I need to download it on my iPad before I forget!

Happy Reading!
-H

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review, Hannah

Leave a Reply

