Pride and Prejudice – Hannah’s Review

Sorry for being late on my review; please forgive me! Now, let’s get down to business: I can’t say I loved P&P like Lindsay did. I certainly enjoyed it, but I don’t think I would call it one of my favorites.

Austen gives us a great character with Elizabeth Bennett. She is everything I love in a late 1800s-husband-hunting-brood. I loved her sarcastic wit and ability to be honest in a society that took usually looked past honesty for class. She also gave us Mr. and Mrs. Bennett, neither of whom I had any affection for. Neither I felt were good parents; I am not sure how all of the daughters didn’t turn up as clueless as Kitty and Lydia with a nut job for a mother.

Mr. Darcy was an arrogant snob. I find it hard to believe a little Lizzy could change his demeanor in less than a year. But, hey! Love does amazing things. Or so I hear! I got bogged down at times reading the dialogue between characters, especially those two lovebirds. Without daily communication I can understand why they needed to praise each other with paragraph upon paragraph of snide compliments, but reading them was quite much.

Anyway, enough of my rambling! It’s time to move on to Atonement. Lindsay is picking it up tomorrow afternoon (Happy Labor Day, everyone!) and I have read the first chapter. I will admit, I am a little scared that Lindsay is going to hate a novel that I love so much. We will just have to wait and see how that works out. Oh, the mysteries of literature!

Side note, we have been discussing also having a little movie party after each novel we read that has a corresponding (and somewhat recent) film to go along with it. I am going to try and find the time to watch P&P with the ever-lovely Kiera Knightly. I will share my thoughts and compare the two if this ever actually happens.

For now, happy reading & happy Labor Day!!
-H

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review, Hannah

Leave a Reply

