The Night Circus – Hannah’s Review

Our calendar gives us until tomorrow to finish The Night Circus but I finished it yesterday because I am an overachiever like that. Just kidding! Really it is because I have nothing else to do besides read. Anyway, here is my review on The Night Circus.

I loved it! I had forgotten so much since my first time reading it; I am glad that I had the chance to read it again. It is beautifully written. It is marketed as a “looooove story”, but truly, the love story doesn’t start until well into the novel. It is about two magicians, unaware of their opponent, playing a game of magician chess and using Le Cirque des Rêves as a venue for their work. Set in London, the circus travels around Europe, and later, the world, with such secrecy it’s not hard to imagine why everyone holds it with such fascination. Morgensten creates Le Cirque with such beauty, grace, and imagination but it’s still believable; if the circus doesn’t exist in real life, I hope that we get a film from this work so we can witness its beauty. The look of the circus itself, all black and white, is a backdrop for each of the numerous tents with different displays. The smell of the circus, caramel and popcorn, the velvet of the curtains, and the ease of Celia’s illusions are simple to believe and picture. I’m not going to pick a side for a “winner”, but let me point out my favorite tents were The Cloud Maze and The Ice Garden.  The only issue I had with the book was once we hit the romance parts – the dialogue became a little corny for my taste, but whatever. It was enough to look past because the circus itself was so much better. So, let’s become rêveurs and live our lives for the wonder of things we see but can not understand. Wait, I do that already!

Favorite Characters: Marco Alisdair, Herr Friedrick Thiessen
Favorite Quotes: “My father called it a debauched juxtaposition, he must have worked for days to come up with a worthy insult.” – Celia Bowen
“Most maidens are perfectly capable of rescuing themselves in my experience, or at least the ones worth something, in any case.” -Mr. A. H-.
“The finest of pleasures are always the unexpected ones.” -Tsukiko
“A dreamer is one who can only find his way by moonlight, and his punishment is that he sees the dawn before the rest of the world.” -Oscar Wilde (in the preface of the novel)

Of course, this novel doesn’t have the makings to be a classic and I didn’t expect it to (I am sure Lindsay didn’t either), but it was a fun read to pass the time. I prefer Circus without a sequel, because we all know most sequels don’t live up to the hype (three exceptions: GRRM, JK & Tolkien). Anyway, we move onto Murders in the Rue Morgue Sunday. What better way than finishing a magnificent circus than with blood and gore in Paris? Hm, I can think of none!

Until next time,
-H

1 Comment

Filed under Book Review, Hannah

One response to “The Night Circus – Hannah’s Review

  1. Sarah Willows

    The Night Circus was one of my favorite books, I read it in one day and I completely adored it.

Leave a Reply

