Why it’s lovely to be literate!

Hello, again, everyone!

I’ve been thinking about something I can do or post regularly to keep our vast multitude of readers entertained. Hannah is just overflowing with ideas (from which you will all reap the benefits soon enough) but as I try to think of one theme or one activity I could post weekly, I just keep coming back to the fact that reading is… Everything! Literature fills my life in ways that make it difficult to pinpoint any single area of focus. So I decided to seize that notion and post something every week about the seemingly endless reasons that life is better when you’re literate!! From what I can imagine, life for a person who hates reading is probably a lot like not being “in” on a joke; everyone is talking about it, references are flying at you from all directions, and yet you have no idea what everyone is talking about. But the life of a well-read individual is just the opposite; we’re in on the joke, people!!! We understand all the references, we know the backstories. Water cooler gossip is never better than when it involves a beautifully and dramatically mangled storyline and a well-formed hypothesis concerning possible outcomes. So I say we seize this exclusivity! Let’s carpe that Diem! Let’s capitalize on our opportunity to find joy in things non-readers “just don’t understand.” Each week (I selected Wednesdays for this particular series of blogs because Wednesday feels like the most optimistic day of the week; not the happiest, but certainly the most optimistic) I will post something pertaining to our literary “inside joke.” It may be a picture, a painting, an awesome bookcase, a covet-worthy library, lit-inspired clothes, basically anything that strikes me! I’ll also try to find a quote that encapsulates the importance of reading and makes us all understand why we’re just so lucky to be a part of this very exclusive club. I welcome feedback or suggestions! Let the festivities commence!!

In honor of our upcoming “maiden voyage,” I decided to post this shirt because I don’t know about you, but I’ll proudly advertise my literary lust!

Since we lost the great author/screenwriter Nora Ephron today, I decided to dedicate the “maiden voyage”  of my inspirational literary quotes to her memory. I think this quote is the epitome of everything I’ve been trying to say about why we are so lucky to be literate!

“Reading is everything. Reading makes me feel like I’ve accomplished something, learned something, become a better person. Reading makes me smarter. Reading gives me something to talk about later on. Reading is the unbelievably healthy way my attention deficit disorder medicates itself. Reading is escape, and the opposite of escape; it’s a way to make contact with reality after a day of making things up, and it’s a way of making contact with someone else’s imagination after a day that’s all too real. Reading is grist. Reading is bliss.” – Nora Ephron

1 Comment

Filed under Lindsay, Uncategorized

One response to “Why it’s lovely to be literate!

  1. Or should we say Carpe Libellus? After much googling, I have inferred that is Book in Latin. If we have any readers that speak Latin, I hope they will confirm or deny this.

Leave a Reply

